Telenet Cloud Online Help

Migration paths to the new backup client for your server(s)

For Linux servers

You do not have to do anything. We take care of everything for you. Telenet performs the migration in the background.
The current (PureDisk) backup client is deactivated but remains on the server. This enables us to continue to restore data from the old backup platform, if necessary.
The new backup client is installed, configured and tested by Telenet. From that point on, all the backups will take place via the new platform.
The summary screen in your MyAccount control panel will be changed so you only see the backup jobs for the new platform.
Backups from the old platform remain available in accordance with the data retention scheme.
Once the backup data on the old platform has expired, the PureDisk backup client will be removed from your server.

For Windows servers

You do not have to do anything. We take care of everything for you. Telenet performs the migration in the background.
The current (PureDisk) backup client cannot run concurrently with the new backup software on a Windows server. The PureDisk backup client will be removed from the server and the new backup software will be installed, configured and tested.*
From that point on, all the backups will take place via the new platform. The screens in your MyAccount control panel will be changed so you only see the jobs for the new platform.
Backups from the old platform remain available in accordance with the data retention scheme. If a restore from the old system should be necessary, Telenet will restore the data via a restore server.
Once the backup data on the old platform has expired, the PureDisk backup client will be removed from your server.

* In some cases, a reboot is required to complete the deinstallation of PureDisk and/or the installation of the new backup software (e.g. if Windows updates were installed that wait for a reboot). In that case we stop with the migration and return to the old situation. A Planned Maintenance Window is then agreed with the client for a server reboot.
0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles
Which DNS servers do I have to configure on my Dedicated or Colocation server
Viewed 2041 times since Mon, Sep 28, 2009
What are the advantages of Hyper-V?
Viewed 3857 times since Tue, Nov 18, 2008
What is Dedicated hosting?
Viewed 14602 times since Fri, Nov 28, 2008
How do I check my backup logs?
Viewed 2023 times since Mon, Feb 7, 2011
Do I get a warning if the server is down?
Viewed 1803 times since Thu, Sep 10, 2009
How do I check the bandwidth of my server?
Viewed 6030 times since Mon, Sep 21, 2009
If I choose the Plesk control panel, which version will be installed?
Viewed 1502 times since Mon, Aug 24, 2009
What’s the Managed SMTP service and how do I use this service?
Viewed 7077 times since Thu, Jul 29, 2010
Which outgoing mail server can I use for dedicated servers?
Viewed 1384 times since Mon, Jul 16, 2012
How do I configure a new IP address on my server?
Viewed 1601 times since Thu, Nov 17, 2011